Espace Perreault
Choreographic transmission

On November 25, 2021, in line with its new mission statement and desire to embrace  diverse choreographic practices, the Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault changed its name to Espace Perreault Choreographic transmission.

 

Mission

Espace Perreault is dedicated to research and creation around dance memories. It fosters reflection and develops cultural mediation tools based on dance creation, documentation and transmission processes. It is open to multiple voices and forms of experimentation, and its activities nourish the dance community and audiences. 

 

From now on

The Espace Perreault will strive to decolonize dance through its reflections and actions. Recognizing the plural identities making up Quebec society involves revisiting the aesthetics, role and functioning of artistic institutions. We must question the value systems and cultural references we have inherited from colonialism.

Understanding and addressing the sources and impacts of systemic racism involves, first of all, acknowledging its existence, being aware of our own conscious and unconscious biases, repairing the inequalities of the past and present, and, above all, taking open and deliberate action against the racialization of individuals, peoples, their histories and their artistic practices. Starting today.

Brief History

In 1984, the choreographer Jean-Pierre Perreault created the foundation that bears his name. Over the next 30 years, the FJPP presented 20 critically-acclaimed works, both at home and abroad, including NuitLieux-ditsL‘Exil-L’OubliLes Ombres and Joe, and also exhibited Perreault’s many drawings and paintings. In 1993, the FJPP purchased the Saint-Robert-Bellarmin church in order to transform it into a choreographic centre (the church has since been handed over to Circuit Est).

In 2002, Perreault’s untimely death led the FJPP to reflect on its role in Quebec’s choreographic landscape, with a view to promoting and keeping alive the work of its founder. It began to broaden its horizons, reaching out to a growing number of choreographers. This transformation occurred during which the Fondation developed partnerships with various cultural institutions in Quebec and Canada, including the Société de la Place des arts and the National Arts Centre. With Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec (BAnQ), the FJPP helped to create the Jean-Pierre Perreault fonds.

Originally focused on preserving the work of its founder, in 2014 the FJPP broadened its mission to include documenting and transmitting Quebec’s contemporary dance legacies, while encouraging reflection on the creation and promotion of our dance heritage. The Fondation initiates long-term strategies and collective actions—including new digital platform EC2, choreographic toolkits, virtual exhibition, international museum exhibitions, shows, cultural mediation workshops, seminars, focus days on copyright and dance heritage, and an artistic legacy guide—targeting dance professionals, the arts community and the general public. Through these initiatives, the FJPP makes works accessible for research, teaching and reinvention. All of these activities keep the memories of dance alive, inspiring creativity in the present and future, and allowing choreographers to earn royalties.

September 21, 2016, the Fondation launched the portal EC2_Espaces chorégraphiques 2, along with its first online collection of choreographic toolkits, ensuring the dynamic presence of our dance legacies in the digital world. This initiative was carried out in close collaboration with Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec, the Dance Department at UQAM, Fortier Danse-Création, La 2e Porte à Gauche, Le Carré des Lombes, Louise Bédard Danse, Lucie Grégoire Danse, the Margie Gillis Dance Foundation, PPS Danse and Tangente.

The new digital platform EC2_Espaces chorégraphiques 2, fulfils the Fondation’s new mission, paying tribute to the visionary spirit of its founder, Jean-Pierre Perreault.

Board of Directors

Marc Boivin
Chair

Marc Boivin has achieved nationwide recognition as a dancer, creator and teacher. He performed for many years with the Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault, and has chaired its board of directors since 2005. From 2005 to 2010, he was a member of the board of directors of the Conseil des arts de Montréal and sat on the dance committee. From 2010 to 2014, he was president of the Regroupement québécois de la danse.

Angélique Willkie

Vice-chair

Performer, singer, pedagogue and dramaturge, Angélique Willkie completed a Masters degree in Economics at McGill University before starting her dance training at the School of Toronto Dance Theater. Her career evolved in Europe over the following 25 years where she worked with, among others, Alain Platel, Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, Jan Lauwers / Needcompany, and as a singer with the Belgian world-music group, Zap Mama. Working as a dramaturge for dance and circus, Angélique is also Assistant Professor in the Department of Contemporary Dance at Montreal’s Concordia University.

Josée Plamondon

Secretary

Master of Library and Information Science, MBA.

Trained as a librarian to be a data and information retrieval systems specialist, Josée was confronted with organizational and technological issues related to the dissemination of information in diverse areas including cultural industries. She has contributed to projects aiming at interoperability and data sharing, content indexing for machine processing and knowledge sharing. Now a consultant, she offers content creators and producers who are facing digital challenges to understand the dynamics of information and learn how to exploit the data that describes their content. Since 2016, she co-organizes an annual semantic web meeting in Quebec in the form of a conference.

Josée recently worked with the Canada Council for the Arts, the Quartier des spectacles Partnership, Canadian Heritage Information Network and SODEC. She sits on the Quebec government’s digital council.

Yves Bergeron

Board member

Yves Bergeron is Professor of Museology/Museum Studies and Heritage in the Department of History of Art at UQAM. He teaches masters programs in Museology/Museum studies and international PhD in Museology/Museum studies, Mediation, Heritage. His work includes the history of Museology/Museum studies and museum trends and governance. He has published numerous articles on the meaning of objects, the history of museums and the founding myths of Museology. He participated in the edition of the Dictionnaire encyclopédique de muséologie (Armand Colin 2011). He wrote with François Mairesse, of the University of Paris 3 Sorbonne Nouvelle, Mémoires de la muséologie, a project dedicated to the contemporary history of Museology/Museum studies. He published two books on the emergence of the Museum of Civilization in 2016 and the work of Roland Arpin (Un nouveau musée pour un nouveau monde et Diriger sans s’excuser. Patrimoine, musée et gouvernance selon Roland Arpin, L’Harmattan).

Patrick Gaboury

Board member

Patrick Gaboury holds a Bachelor’s degree in Business Administration and an MBA from the School of Management Sciences (ESG UQÀM). He has worked in the financial field for nearly 12 years with the National Bank of Canada. After holding several management positions in the branch network, including Branch Manager, he now holds the position of Senior Director, Advisory and Client Approach. Supporting the entire branch and call centre network across Canada, Patrick works to evolve business practices in order to enhance the consulting offer and experience offered to the Bank’s clientele.

Sophie Michaud

Board member

Anne Thériault

Board member

As creator and performer, Anne Thériault has been weaving collaborations with artists from multiple backgrounds for fifteen years. She is a founding member of Lorganisme, a structure that reinforces the activity of choreographers, bringing them together and encouraging them to deepen their respective artistic approaches through sharing creative, human, and material resources. She has also been an associate artist at Usine C since 2018 and is invited as a « artiste-chercheure » by L’L- an experimental research structure for the living arts in Brussels, until 2023.

Team

Lise Gagnon
Executive Director
dg@espaceperreault.ca

Ariane Dessaulles
Project Manager
info@espaceperreault.ca

Victoria Côté
Communications Project Manager
comm@espaceperreault.ca

Renée Hudon
Accountant

Catherine Lavoie-Marcus
Sismography Project Coordinator

Artistic and Scientific Committee

Marc Boivin, dancer and instructor

Ariane Dessaulles, dancer, choreographer and Project Manager at Espace Perreault

Hélène Duval, professor in pedagogy at the Department of Dance, UQAM

Shérane Figaro, dancer and choreographer in the Haitian contemporary dance scene

Lise Gagnon, Espace Perreault Executive Director

Gabrielle Larocque, artist and researcher in arts and museum studies

Sophie Michaud, artistic consultant in contemporary dance

Katya Montaignac, performer, choreographer, dramaturg and critic

Angélique Willkie, multidisciplinary artist, professor at the Department of Contemporary Dance, Concordia University

Press Kit (French version)

Partners

Governmental Partners

Sponsors

Espace Perreault gratefully acknowledges the financial support provided by the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec for the creation of EC2_Espaces chorégraphiques 2 and the digital collection of choreographic toolkits, as part of Quebec’s digital cultural plan.

Espace Perreault expresses special thanks to Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec, the Société de la Place des Arts de Montréal and the National Arts Centre for their participation in the protection and promotion of Jean-Pierre Perreault’s artistic legacy.

Espace Perreault gratefully thanks its 2021-202 donors: Claire Adamczyk, Marc Boivin, Circuit-Est centre chorégraphique, Danse-Cité, Mélanie Demers, Virginie Desroches, anonymous donor, Hélène Duval, Michèle Febvre, Lise Gagnon, Amélie Gauthier, Nicole Harbonnier, Gilles Lapointe, Le Carré des Lombes, Nasim Lootij, Pierre MacDuff, Sylviane Martineau, Sophie Michaud, Coralie Muroni, Robert Paquin, Chado Pelletier, Josée Plamondon, Theresa Rowat, Guylaine Savoie, Karim Talaat.

Espace Perreault thanks National Bank Private Banking 1859, major sponsor of the 2021-2022 fundraising campaign as well as Caisse Desjardins de la Culture, which this year is sponsoring the Danser Joe workshop with Les Impatients.

Espace Perreault
Transmissions chorégraphiques

Le 25 novembre 2021, en accord avec son nouvel énoncé de mission et son ouverture à différentes pratiques chorégraphiques, la Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault devient l’Espace Perreault Transmissions chorégraphiques.

Mission

L’Espace Perreault se voue à la recherche et à la création autour des mémoires de la danse ; il cultive la réflexion et développe des outils de médiation à propos des processus de création, de documentation et de transmission de la danse.
Il est ouvert à une pluralité de voix et d’expérimentations et ses activités nourrissent le milieu de la danse et ses publics.

Dorénavant

L’Espace Perreault œuvre à la décolonisation de la danse par sa réflexion et ses actions. La reconnaissance des identités plurielles qui forment la société québécoise implique de revisiter les esthétiques, le rôle et le fonctionnement des institutions artistiques. Elle exige de remettre en question les systèmes de valeurs et les référents culturels hérités du colonialisme.

Comprendre et agir contre les sources et les impacts du racisme systémique implique d’abord de reconnaitre son existence, d’être à l’affût de nos propres biais conscients ou inconscients, de réparer les inégalités du passé comme du présent et, surtout, d’agir ouvertement et délibérément contre la racialisation des individus, des peuples, de leurs histoires et de leurs pratiques artistiques.
Dès aujourd’hui.

Historique

En 1984, le chorégraphe Jean-Pierre Perreault crée la fondation qui porte son nom et avec laquelle il  présentera au cours des trente années suivantes vingt œuvres acclamées tant au pays qu’à l’étranger, telles NuitLieux-ditsL‘Exil-L’OubliLes Ombres et Joe ; elle donne aussi à voir ses œuvres picturales. En 1993, la FJPP acquiert l’église Saint-Robert-Bellarmin pour la transformer en centre chorégraphique (lequel a été cédé, depuis, à Circuit-Est).

 

En 2002, le décès prématuré du chorégraphe amène la Fondation à réfléchir au rôle qu’elle peut tenir dans le paysage chorégraphique québécois, en vue de promouvoir et de conserver vivante l’œuvre de son fondateur. Elle s’emploie ensuite à élargir ses actions envers un nombre grandissant d’autres chorégraphes. Cette transformation est menée alors qu’elle développe des partenariats avec différentes institutions québécoises et canadiennes, dont la Société de la Place des arts et le Centre national des arts. Avec Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec (BAnQ), elle collabore à la constitution du Fonds Jean-Pierre Perreault.

 

La FJPP se consacre, depuis le renouvellement de sa mission en 2014, à la documentation et à la transmission de la danse contemporaine et actuelle québécoise, tout en développant une réflexion sur les patrimoines chorégraphiques, leur constitution, leur mise en valeur et leurs potentialités. Elle initie des activités structurantes et des actions collectives – plateforme numérique EC2, boîtes chorégraphiques, exposition virtuelle, expositions internationales dans des musées, spectacles, ateliers de médiation culturelle, colloques, journée d’étude sur le droit d’auteur et le legs artistique en danse, testament artistique, etc. – qui s’adressent tant aux professionnels de la danse qu’au grand public et plus largement au milieu culturel.

 

À travers ses initiatives, elle rend les œuvres et leurs composantes accessibles à la recherche, à l’enseignement ou à la recréation. Toutes ces activités gardent vivantes les mémoires de la danse, inspirent la création d’aujourd’hui et de demain et permettent aux chorégraphes de toucher des droits en lien avec celles-ci.

 

Le 21 septembre 2016, la FJPP lançait le portail EC2_Espaces chorégraphiques 2, de même que la première collection numérique de boîtes chorégraphiques, en collaboration étroite avec Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec, le Département de danse de l’UQAM, la Fondation de danse Margie Gillis, Fortier Danse-Création, La 2e Porte à Gauche, Le Carré des Lombes, Louise Bédard Danse, Lucie Grégoire Danse, PPS Danse et Tangente.

Conseil d'administration

Marc Boivin
président

Reconnu sur la scène nationale, Marc Boivin est danseur, improvisateur et enseignant. Il a été interprète durant plusieurs années à la Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault et préside son conseil d’administration depuis 2005. De 2005 à 2010, il  fait partie du conseil d’administration du Conseil des arts de Montréal et du comité sectoriel Danse. De 2010 à 2014, il occupe le poste de président du Regroupement québécois de la danse.

Angélique Willkie
vice-présidente

Performeuse, chanteuse, pédagogue et dramaturge, Angélique Willkie termine un Master en Economie à l’Université de McGill avant de commencer sa formation de danse à la School of Toronto Dance Theatre. Elle poursuit sa carrière en Europe pendant plus de 25 ans où elle travaille avec entre autres Alain Platel, Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, Jan Lauwers / Needcompany, et comme chanteuse avec le groupe de musique du monde, Zap Mama. Dramaturge oeuvrant dans les milieux de danse et de cirque, Angélique est également professeure dans le Département de danse de l’Université Concordia à Montréal.

Josée Plamondon
secrétaire

Maîtrise en bibliothéconomie et sciences de l’information, MBA.

Bibliothécaire de formation, spécialiste des systèmes d’information et des bases de données, Josée a été confrontée aux enjeux organisationnels et technologiques liés à la diffusion d’information dans divers domaines, dont celui de la culture. Elle a contribué à des projets visant l’interopérabilité et le partage de données, l’indexation de contenus pour leur traitement par des machines et la mise en commun de connaissances. À présent consultante, elle propose aux créateurs et producteurs de contenus qui font face aux défis du numérique de comprendre la dynamique de l’information et d’apprendre à exploiter les données qui décrivent leurs contenus. Depuis 2016, elle co-organise un rendez-vous annuel sur le Web sémantique au Québec sous forme de colloque.

Josée a récemment travaillé avec le Conseil des arts du Canada, le Partenariat du Quartier des spectacles, le Réseau canadien d’information sur le patrimoine et la SODEC. Elle siège au conseil numérique du gouvernement du Québec.

Yves Bergeron
administrateur

Yves Bergeron est professeur de muséologie et de patrimoine au département d’histoire de l’art de l’UQAM. Il enseigne notamment aux programmes de maîtrise en muséologie et de doctorat international en muséologie, médiation, patrimoine. Ses travaux portent notamment sur l’histoire de la muséologie, les tendances et la gouvernance des musées. Il a publié de nombreux articles sur le sens des objets, l’histoire des musées et les mythes de fondation de la muséologie. Il a participé au projet d’édition du Dictionnaire encyclopédique de muséologie (Armand Colin 2011). Il réalise avec François Mairesse de l’Université Paris 3 Sorbonne Nouvelle le projet Mémoires de la muséologie consacré à l’histoire contemporaine de la muséologie.  Il a publié en 2016 deux ouvrages sur l’émergence du musée de la civilisation et à l’œuvre de Roland Arpin (Un nouveau musée pour un nouveau monde et Diriger sans s’excuser. Patrimoine, musée et gouvernance selon Roland Arpin, L’Harmattan).

Patrick Gaboury
administrateur

Titulaire d’un Baccalauréat en administration des affaires et d’un MBA de l’école des science de la gestion, Patrick Gaboury travaille dans le domaine financier depuis près de 12 ans, au sein de la Banque Nationale du Canada. Après avoir occupé plusieurs fonctions de gestion dans le réseaux des succursales, notamment à titre directeur de succursales, il occupe dorénavant la fonction de Directeur principal, Approche Conseil et client. Supportant l’ensemble du réseaux des succursales et centres d’appels au travers le Canada, Patrick travaille afin de faire évoluer les pratiques d’affaires en guise de l’offre conseil et de l’expérience offertes auprès de la clientèle de la Banque.

Sophie Michaud

administratrice

Sophie Michaud amorce sa carrière en danse au début des années quatre-vingt. Depuis plus de trente ans, par les voies d’études universitaires (B. et M. danse, scolarité doctorale en études et pratiques des arts) et d’une pratique soutenue, elle se spécialise dans l’accompagnement des projets chorégraphiques. Directrice des répétitions, conseillère artistique et dramaturgique, elle collabore avec de nombreux chorégraphes aux différentes étapes de réalisation de leurs œuvres en accordant une importance particulière à l’intrication des enjeux artistiques et relationnels et leurs manifestations en studio. Éclairée par une importante expérience des processus de création, Sophie M. agit également à titre de consultante, rédactrice, formatrice et médiatrice artistique. Poursuivant ses propres recherches, elle s’intéresse à l’histoire de la danse, l’éthique et la sociologie des professions.

Anne Thériault

administratrice

Créatrice et performeuse singulière, Anne Thériault tisse depuis une quinzaine d’années des collaborations avec des artistes d’horizons multiples. Elle est membre fondatrice de Lorganisme, une structure pour chorégraphes misant sur la force du regroupement au sein de la pratique artistique. Elle est également artiste associée de l’Usine C depuis 2018 et chercheure invitée par L’L- une structure de recherche expérimentale en arts vivants située à Bruxelles jusqu’en 2023.

Équipe

Lise Gagnon
Directrice générale
dg@espaceperreault.ca

Ariane Dessaulles
Chargée de projets
info@espaceperreault.ca

Victoria Côté
Chargée de projet en communications
comm@espaceperreault.ca

Renée Hudon
Responsable de la comptabilité

Catherine Lavoie-Marcus
Coordonnatrice du projet Sismographie

Comité artistique et scientifique

Marc Boivin, interprète et enseignant en danse

Ariane Dessaulles, interprète, chorégraphe et chargée de projets à l’Espace Perreault

Hélène Duval, professeure au département de danse de l’UQAM

Shérane Figaro, danseuse et chorégraphe en danse contemporaine haïtienne

Lise Gagnon, directrice générale de l’Espace Perreault

Gabrielle Larocque, artiste et chercheuse en arts et muséologie

Sophie Michaud, conseillère artistique en danse contemporaine

Katya Montaignac, interprète, chorégraphe, dramaturge et critique

Angélique Willkie, artiste multidisciplinaire, professeure au département de danse de Concordia

Dossier de presse

L’Espace Perreault reçoit une aide financière des instances suivantes :

L’Espace Perreault tient à remercier le Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec pour son soutien à la création du portail dans le cadre du programme Plateformes et réseaux numériques et pour son soutien à la numérisation de six boîtes chorégraphiques dans le cadre de la Mesure d’aide à la numérisation de contenus artistiques et littéraires – 2015-2016.

L’Espace Perreault remercie tout particulièrement Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec, la Société de la Place des Arts de Montréal ainsi que le Centre national des Arts pour leur participation à la préservation et à la mise en valeur du patrimoine artistique de Jean-Pierre Perreault.

L’Espace remercie également ses donatrices et donateurs 2021-2022 : Claire Adamczyk, Marc Boivin, Circuit-Est centre chorégraphique, Mélanie Demers, Virginie Desroches, donatrice anonyme, Hélène Duval, Michèle Febvre, Lise Gagnon, Amélie Gauthier, Nicole Harbonnier, Gilles Lapointe, Nasim Lootij, Pierre MacDuff, Sylviane Martineau, Sophie Michaud, Coralie Muroni, Robert Paquin, Chado Pelletier, Josée Plamondon, Theresa Rowat, Guylaine Savoie, Karim Talaat.

L’Espace Perreault tient à remercier Banque nationale Gestion privée 1859, grand commanditaire de la campagne de financement 2021-2022 et la Caisse Desjardins de la Culture, commanditaire de l’atelier Danser Joe avec Les Impatients.