Excerpt from work

Bouncing off the archive #1

Place
Galerie UQO
Director
Rémi Thériault | House of Commons
Editor
Chris Snow
Length
13 min 41
Choreographer and dancer
Hanna Sybille Müller
In collaboration with
Lauren Semeschuk, Nate Yaffe

In the second part, Hanna Sybille Müller shares her dis/embodied archive findings with two dancers, Nate Yaffe and Lauren Semeschuk, with whom she developed a trio. When the residency and project were postponed due to the pandemic, a week of rehearsals still took place in Montreal’s Parc du Mont-Royal in June 2020. While Hanna Sybille, Nate and Lauren were researching gestures in relation to Galerie UQO’s archives, the rehearsal week also became a snap-shot of dance, or the need to “dance together” during the pandemic, when physical distancing is now part of everyone’s daily choreography. The movement material that came into being is composed of big, powerful whole body movements interwoven with delicate hand and head gestures, and a play with the gaze.

 

Projects

Moving through the archive

Co-production

The Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault participated in the project Se mouvoir dans l’archive / Moving through the archive, a production by Galerie UQO with choreographer, dramaturg and dancer Hanna Sybille Müller. In the fall of 2019, director/curator Marie-Hélène Leblanc invited Hanna Sybille Müller to work with…

Events

More to discover

Excerpt from work

The dis/embodied archive

In the gallery’s refined space, Sybille Müller dances the embodied and disembodied archive in five movements. Through words and dance, the artist takes us through different timelines of the gallery’s history.

Excerpt from work

Trailer – Moving through the archive

Excerpts from Moving through the archive, Bouncing off the archive and The archive of gestures

Excerpt from work

Bouncing off the archive #2

In the second part, Hanna Sybille Müller shares her dis/embodied archive findings with two dancers, Nate Yaffe and Lauren Semeschuk, with whom she developed a trio. When the residency and project were postponed due to the pandemic, a week of rehearsals still took place in…

Excerpt from work

The archive of gestures

Hanna Sybille Müller collected gestures that were performed by the gallery’s staff when an exhibition was being prepared, inaugurated or discussed, and she composed them in a score. Working with each staff member, she discussed how their gestures should be performed. The choreography is an…

Extraits d’œuvres

Ricocher sur l’archive #1

Lieu
Galerie UQO
Réalisation
Rémi Thériault | House of Commons
Montage
Chris Snow
Durée
13 min 41
Chorégraphe et interprète
Hanna Sybille Müller
En collaboration avec
Lauren Semeschuk, Nate Yaffe

Dans Ricocher sur l’archive, Hanna Sybille Müller partage ses découvertes d’archive dés/incarnée avec un danseur et une danseuse, Nate Yaffe et Lauren Semeschuk, avec qui elle a développé une formation en trio. Au moment où la résidence et le projet ont dû être reportés en raison de la pandémie, une semaine de répétitions a eu lieu au Parc du Mont-Royal de Montréal en juin 2020. Durant la période de recherche de Hanna Sybille, Nate et Lauren portant sur des gestes en relation avec les archives de la Galerie UQO, la semaine de répétitions est également devenue un instantané de la danse, l’expression de la nécessité de « danser ensemble » pendant la pandémie, alors que la distanciation physique fait maintenant partie de la chorégraphie quotidienne de chacun. La dynamique concrète qui en a découlé est composée de mouvements corporels larges et puissants, entrelacés de gestes délicats de la main et de la tête, et de jeux de regards.

Découvrez la première des trois parties.

Projets

Se mouvoir dans l’archive

Coproduction

La Fondation Jean-Pierre Perreault collabore au projet Se mouvoir dans l’archive, une production de la Galerie UQO réalisée avec la chorégraphe, dramaturge et danseuse Hanna Sybille Müller. À l’automne 2019, la directrice/commissaire Marie-Hélène Leblanc invite l’artiste à travailler avec les archives visuelles et textuelles produites…

Évènements

À découvrir aussi

Extraits d’œuvres

L’archive dés/incarnée

Dans l’espace épuré de la galerie, en cinq différents mouvements, Sybille Müller, danse l’archive incarnée et désincarnée. À travers les mots et la danse, l’artiste nous entraîne dans différentes temporalités de l’histoire de la galerie.

Extraits d’œuvres

L’archive des gestes

Hanna Sybille Müller a colligé les gestes qui ont été posés par le personnel de la galerie lors des discussions autour de la préparation et de l’inauguration d’une exposition, et elle les a synthétisés ensuite en une partition. Elle a travaillé en étroite collaboration avec…

Extraits d’œuvres

Bande annonce – Se mouvoir dans l’archive

Extraits de L’archive dés/incarnée, Ricocher sur l’archive et L’archive des gestes

Entrevue vidéo

Rencontre : Josiane Bernier et Natalie Plante (extrait)

Avec Josiane Bernier, Natalie Plante et Harold Rhéaume